Imperial Sports awards

Celebrate your achievements at the Imperial Sports Awards on Thursday 11 May. 

Purchase your ticketsNominate someone for an award

Event details

Venue: Queen's Lawn Marquee, South Kensington Campus

Time: 18.00 – 23.00 (then onto Beit Quad for an after party)

The evening will consist of:

  • A drinks reception
  • 3 course meal with wine
  • Awards
  • Special guest speaker Q and A

Swap your trainers for tuxedos, your basketballs for ball gowns and get ready to celebrate the Imperial Sports Awards in style!

Join us on Thursday 11 May to celebrate student sport from this past academic year at Imperial College London. We’ll be acknowledging the achievements of individuals and teams in local, national and international competitions; coaches who had made considerable contributions to their clubs and societies as well as students who have shown significant dedication and commitment to taking part and being involved with sport.

The evening will be hosted by Sky Sports News presenter David Garrido and Mike Tindall appearing as guest speaker.

Tickets and dress code

Tickets will be open for sale from Monday 13 March.
Dress code: Strict Black Tie. 
Location: Queen's Lawn Marquee


Nominations will open on Monday 13 March and close Monday 3 April


Outstanding Contribution - Student nominations

This award will recognise an individual who has delivered above and beyond expectations within sport and physical activity within the College.


  • Jordan Anning – ICSM Lacrosse 
  • Ifrah Hussain – ICSM Netball
  • Megan Kenny – ACC Football Women’s
  • Kiran Patel – ICSM Rugby Men’s
  • Alex Picksley – ACC Swim and Water Polo
  • John Pyrah – ACC Football Men’s
  • Toby Simpson – ACC Rugby Men’s
  • Alice Vanel – ACC Volleyball 
  • Alina Walch – ACC Basketball


Coach of the Year - Student nominations

This award will recognise the contribution of a coach who has gone above and beyond what is expected of them and aided the development and success of the club.


  • Josh Barlow – ICSM Rugby Men’s
  • Juan Campos-Salazar – ACC Volleyball
  • James Mackay – ACC American Football
  • Rens – ACC Football  Women’s
  • Adam Walzer – ACC Swim and Water Polo

Club of the Year - Student nominations

This award recognises a sports club’s contribution to sport at Imperial within the past academic year, acknowledging their dedication and commitment to raising the profile of the club and having a positive impact on its members and wider Imperial community.


  • ACC American Football
  • ACC Football Women’s
  • ACC Kabaddi
  • ACC Volleyball
  • ICSM Hockey Men’s
  • ICSM Netball

Participation Award

This award recognises an individual who has shown exemplary commitment and dedication to taking part in sport and physical activity programmes that have been delivered this year and taken the time to promote Sport Imperial during the season.


  • Tom Matcham – ACC Lawn Tennis
  • James McComish – ACC Swim and Water Polo
  • David Salmon – ACC Windsurfing
  • Sarah Wettstadt – ACC Volleyball

Sportsman of the Year

This award will recognise an individual who has excelled within their sport performing at an elite level over the past year.


  • Liem Bui-Le – Weightlifting
  • Harry Peck – ACC Fencing
  • Andreas Siagris – RCC Ice Hockey
  • Tristan Vouilloz – ACC Boat

Sportswoman of the Year

This award will recognise an individual who has excelled within their sport performing at an elite level over the past year.


  • Maddalena Ardissino – ACC Boat 
  • Montana Jackson – ACC Cross Country and Athletics
  • Clare Maurer – ACC Cross Country and Athletics
  • Alexandra Van Randwyk – ACC Riding and Polo

Team of the Year

This award recognises a student sports team that has shown commitment and dedication throughout the season and have produced outstanding sporting performances.


  • ACC Fencing Men’s 2nd
  • ACC Football Men’s 1st
  • ACC Hockey Women’s 1st
  • ACC Squash Men’s 1st
  • ICSM Hockey Men’s 1st
  • ICSM Netball 3rd

The awards ready to go.

Smiling students

Students enjoying the champagne reception.

David Garrido

Our host, David Garrido welcoming the audience.

Colin Jackson

Colin Jackson, sporting guest taking questions from the audience and presenting the awards.

Club of the Year

ACC Kabaddi winning Club of the Year


Post ceremony celebrations