Imperial College London is an independent corporation whose legal status derives from a Royal Charter, originally granted under Letters Patent in 1907. Its objects, powers and framework of governance are set out in its Charter and Statutes, which were granted by Her Majesty The Queen in 1998. On 4th April 2007 a Supplemental Charter and Statutes were granted by Her Majesty. This Supplemental Charter, which came into force on the date of the College's Centenary, 8th July 2007, established the College as a University with the name and style of 'The Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine'.

The College is an exempt charity under the laws of England and Wales by virtue of the Exempt Charities Order 1962 and the Third Schedule to the Charities Act 2011. Its activities include the promotion of scholarship, education and research in science, engineering and medicine especially in their application to industry. In accordance with the Charities Act 2011 HEFCE is the responsible body for regulating universities as charities on behalf of the Charity Commission.

The full text of the University's Charter and Statutes may be viewed on the University web-site or obtained from the Clerk to the Council and Court.

Information blocks

Legal Name

The College's legal name is 'the Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine'.

The words 'Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine', 'Imperial College London' and 'Imperial College' are registered trade-marks.

The College's preferred brand identity is 'Imperial College London'.

Correspondence Address

The College's correspondence address is:
The Faculty Building
Imperial College London
Exhibition Road
South Kensington
London SW7 2AZ
United Kingdom


The members of the Council are also the trustees of Imperial College London.

As of 31 January 2017 the trustees are:

TrusteeOther Charitable Trusts of which the Trustee is a trustee
Sir Philip Dilley  
External Members  
Mr Chris Brinsmead CBE  
Mr Iain Conn  
Mr Toby Courtauld Movement to Work
 Mr John Cullen  
 Ms Rachel Lomax

Institute of Fiscal Studies


The Ditchley Foundation

Ms Sara Murray OBE  
Ms Alison Nimmo CBE UK Green Building Council
Dr Mahnaz Safa  
Professor Jeremy Sanders CBE FRS  Storey's Field Community Trust
Mr Christopher Williams Christ's Hospital School
Ex-Officio Members  
President, Professor Alice P Gast  King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST)
Provost, Professor James Stirling CBE FRS  
Chief Financial Officer, Mr Muir Sanderson  
Imperial College Union President, Mr Nas Andriopoulos  
Senior Staff Representatives  
 Professor Nelson Philips  
 Professor Tom Welton  Lloyd's of London Tercentenary Foundation
 Professor Jeff Magee  British Computer Society
 Professor Gavin Screaton  
Elected Staff Member  
 Professor Neil Alford  
Summary of the table's contents

Financial Statements

Copies of the College’s most recent audited Annual Report and Financial Statements are published on the College Finance Department's webpages. Copies of the annual report and financial statements from previous years are also available.